A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed only if a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people could see its content. This option may be used for the main folder of a specific website or just for a certain subfolder based on your preferences. As an example, when you are building a new website and you don't want people to see it prior to it being completely ready, you may want to prohibit the access to it altogether, and if you would like only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you are able to password-protect only a specific folder, while the remaining portion of the Internet site can be seen by everybody. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor enters are not accurate. Even a direct link to a file will not work so long as any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Web Hosting

With the password protection tool supplied with every single shared web hosting package which we offer, you shall be able to secure any content that you have inside your account with simply a few clicks. Since the tool is a component of our innovative Hepsia CP, it has exactly the same simple interface and you shall not require any special skills to use it. As soon as you navigate to the Password Protection section, you will have to choose one of the domains or subdomains that you have within the account and then choose if the protection should be switched on for the primary folder or for a subfolder. Then enter the username and the password that you'd like and you shall be set. A small padlock icon inside the File Manager section will tell you that a particular folder is password-protected. In the same way you will be able to add a number of usernames and passwords for the same folder if you'd like several people to have their own login credentials.