Transferring an already registered domain name entails changing the registrar company that handles the domain registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS modifications through the new domain registrar. The transfer procedure is standard with most generic and country-code top-level domain name extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain involves several basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The lock is a security option, which is being adopted by more and more domain name registry operators. It is a standard feature supported by all generic top-level domain names. If a domain is locked, it will be impossible to start a transfer procedure, so nobody can even attempt to snatch your domain name. The lock can be removed only through the account where the domain is registered in the first place and all new domains that support this functionality are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Web Hosting

Locking and unlocking a domain name registered through our company is remarkably easy. This can be accomplished through the Hepsia Control Panel, which is included with our Linux shared web hosting plans, and will require exactly two mouse clicks. All your domain names will be shown in alphabetical order in the Registered Domains section of the Control Panel and next to those whose extensions support the registrar lock option, you will see a padlock-like symbol. Click on it once and you’ll notice the domain name’s current status. Click for the second time and you’ll alter its status. The change will propagate momentarily without the need for you or for our company to do anything else for the status to be updated on WHOIS lookup sites, so you can proceed with the transfer process straight away.